The Republic of Ghana submitted its Instrument of Ratification to the Arusha Protocol for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants on the 24th of November 2023 at the sidelines of the Nineteenth Session of the Council of Ministers held in Gaborone, Botswana. Ghana became the fourth ARIPO Member State to deposit their instrument of ratification or accession to the Arusha Protocol. The other Member States that have ratified or acceded are the Republic of Rwanda in June 2019, the Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe in September 2020 and the Republic of Cabo Verde in July 2022. Article 40 (3) of the Arusha Protocol stipulates that it will come into force twelve months after four States have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession with the Director General of ARIPO.